NDIS Eligibility

Who is eligible?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) will help people who have a significant and permanent disability and who need assistance with every day activities. This includes people whose disability is attributed to intellectual, cognitive, neurological, sensory, or physical impairment, or a psychiatric condition.

The NDIS is being rolled out progressively because it is a big change to the current system.

The locations and eligibility requirements for the first stage commencing from July 2013 are:

LocationEligibility requirements
Barwon area of VictoriaPeople aged 0-64
Hunter area of NSWPeople aged 0-64
South AustraliaChildren aged 0-14
TasmaniaYoung people aged 15-24

You can find out if you are eligible for NDIS funding through a tool called My Access Checker.

For information on eligibility, please visit the NDIS website or contact the National Disability Insurance Agency on 1800 800 110.